Sojourn Bicycling Vacations

Sojourn Bicycling Vacations

As a smaller, more boutique-style company, Sojourn has been designing and operating deluxe tours in the US and Canada since 2005. Founded by a group who was previously with one of the large tour companies, Sojourn is a highly experienced outfit that will win your confidence and repeat business. Sojourn focuses on exceptional cycling routes paired with top accommodations and equipment. Their guides are seasoned professionals, and provide top-notch support both on and off the bike. Tours operate in Oregon, California, Arizona (warm winter tour), Texas, Canada (Niagra's Wine Country, Ontario, and Quebec), Maine, Massachusetts, and Vermont - where their Lake Champlain tour was tabbed by Frommer's as one of the "Top 10 Bike Tours in the World." Sojourn also offers custom and private tours.

  • Operator Type:
    Full-Service Operator, Regional Operator
  • Website:
  • Price Tier:
  • Avg Price Per Day:
  • Services:
    Bike Provided, Guided
  • Country:
    Canada, United States

Leave A Review


22 Reviews

  1. Fred. Vermont-Reply
    October 31, 2022 at 10:46 am

    Really bad. Booked a trip with Sojourn, then a few months later they moved the trip by one week. The person at Sojourn was annoyed that we could not simply move our prescheduled vacation days. We lost money on the flights of course. Sojourn did refund our deposit, but only by paper check in the mail. What a huge waste of money.

  2. Larry Liebler-Reply
    August 26, 2022 at 12:34 pm

    Company has gone downhill since new ownership. We just finished a Canada tour with the owners, who joined as apparently, they were short one guide. Their primary concerns are marketing and profit, not customer experience. We had an inexperienced and indifferent guide, bike mirrors that were cheap and barely worked, little communication about the routes, poorly planned routes, some lousy accommodations, to name a few. We’ve been on other Sojourn trips and this was clearly not up to previous standards. The grumbling among the bikers grew louder as the week went on. We won’t be back.

  3. Paul Roye,---AKA ( Corvette01) Northern California-Reply
    October 4, 2021 at 10:42 pm

    Lake Champlain Fall Foliage, late September early October. Twenty riders from all over the USA, all had excellent riding skills, no complaining, winning, just ride your bike and enjoy the fantastic sights and vistas our guides provided us. Pete the lead guide is patient, friendly, caring and a great person. Adam has great technical knowledge, strong rider and has a wealth of history of the whole area. We also had Josh, a trainee who is funny, good rider, and very patient. These three were the glue, that provided us with a superb biking vacation in Vermont and New York, two friendly and challenging states to ride in. We stayed in three hotels, all provided us with great food and comfort. The riding averaged 35-40 miles per day and was both challenging and scenic, with extra add-ons after lunch just in case some wanted to burn more calories. The mornings were on the cool side, so layering was a must, but shedding garments as the hours passed. As mentioned earlier, the food at every Hotel was terrific, the picnic lunch in a national park was a gourmets delight The van was never too far up the road and snacks were plentiful. From my viewpoint all guests bonded with each other and lively conversations were had on and off the bikes. A terrific bike trip

  4. Canada-Reply
    September 12, 2021 at 3:40 pm

    My husband and I booked a trip over a year ago with Sojourn for one specific reason, we were able to drive there and not have to take a plane. We have a doctors note stating my husband is unable to fly due to medical reasons. Now due to covid we cannot cross the boarder to get there so we have to cancel. I spoke with the owner of the company approximately late July and he suggested we wait to see what the U.S Government would decide on August 23 2021. I called him once it was confirmed that the boarder would be closed until September 29 2021 and wanted to cancel as it was getting to close. We paid over $6000 Canadian. The company has a waiting list for this particular time and trip and our place has already been filled, however, the owner will only refund us $2025. He refuses to refund the rest. We are so angry and disappointed as this was a lot of money and nothing to him. Now we are unable to plan a trip in Canada that we could actually get to. We thought we could trust this company as we had travelled with them before, sadly the owners greed wins and we are out a significant amount of money. I do not recommend booking with this company and will not ever again.

  5. Ontario-Reply
    September 4, 2021 at 3:59 pm

    By providing a full refund when a vacation has to be cancelled due to covid travel restrictions. How can you tell people you have a waiting list but then refuse to give a full refund in these times. It is disgusting and greedy.

  6. Terry Mahan Texas-Reply
    May 21, 2020 at 3:32 am

    Sojourn has cancelled our group tour to Canada this year and want us to go in Sept. that is not a viable option I have asked for them to return my $1000 deposit for the cancelled trip, I have tried both phone calls and email. NO response To either the phone calls or emails. We have been on multiple trips with other bike companies. They are much more organized, responsive and professional.

  7. J. Swanson , Durham nc-Reply
    May 14, 2019 at 10:56 am

    Very disappointed with my first interaction with this company. You cannot book on the website and have to call. I called, gave them all my information and credit card and and it appeared my reservation was confirmed. Several days later I noticed they had called me several times so I called them back and was informed that they were cancelling my trip as I was the only one booked. “They hadn’t run my credit card”. Even though the sales person knew all this at the time of my original call, none of this was communicated. Well unfortunately, I had already booked a hotel in europe for the days prior to the trip and that was non-refundable. The customer service rep took no responsibility. Stated that “terms and conditions were on website”; “trips aren’t confirmed until 90 days ahead of time”. None of this was explained when I called. Asked to have call from manager or owner. None has been forthcoming. The sales rep called me back in response to an email requesting a call from the manager/owner. In fact, the sales rep would not even give me the name of his manager owner. Never will use this company again. No transparency. No integrity. Poor customer service and communication. I’m in the hole for $400 hotel (unless I find another trip the same dates/location) and all could have been avoided with transparency and good communication at the time of reservation. The sales rep asked me if I could go on the trip in June instead of September… then they asked me if I had friends I could invite to go with me (?!!!) Extremely unprofessional and immature. He acted as if he thought I was lying when I explained to him I had spent $400 on a hotel booking that was non-refundable prior to the trip. (I was planning on getting trip insurance for the entire vacation once I got my plane tickets. Thank goodness I didn’t get plane tickets!!). Beware of tours that have “sales prices” because I suspect that those are the ones they aren’t filling and probably are likely to be cancelled. Would not describe this as a “boutique” company as the customer service is not at “boutique” level. I will be making a report to the better business bureau about the poor communication. If a company has a terms and conditions that is critical to trip planning, and its on the web – then you should either be referred to web when you call to review this info or you should be able to book on the web and be directed to make note of it there. “one star”.

    • Guest Services Team at Sojourn Active Vacations-Reply
      September 26, 2019 at 11:55 pm

      Like every travel company, we send a reservation confirmation email once it is confirmed. The customers are expected to wait till they get the confirmation email. This reviewer sent us an online reservation request on 6th of May 2019 for a trip starting on September 15, 2019. Before 9th of May, 2019, we responded to the customer that the trip will be cancelled and that is why our team did not process any charges on the reviewer’s credit card. The reviewer, without waiting for the reservation confirmation, went ahead and booked other arrangements which were non-refundable. Unfortunately we cannot take responsibility of a customer booking something outside of our control before booking a confirmed reservation with us, hence we cannot be responsible for this. We have been in business for a long time and we have never ever heard a complaint like that before.

  8. Bob & Cynthia Shannon, Redwood City CA-Reply
    September 19, 2017 at 5:44 pm

    We have journeyed with BackRoads many times and places. Sojourn is better. We recommend Sojourn because thir leaders are energetic and wise(due to their age?)- equally comfortable with people, bikes and life. We wonder when the leaders slept- they were working when we retired for the night, and they were up before breakfast, prepping the bikes, food and drinks for the day. As expected for this level of touring company, food, accommodations, extra activities were superb. But their bikes (Cannondale Synapse Carbon 105)were a step above the usual rentals- a joy to ride and perfectly maintained! Also, the office staff is as good as the Leaders, endlessly patient and helpful. What sets Sojourn apart? their older, wiser leaders!

    • Raja Mukherjee-Reply
      September 26, 2019 at 7:14 pm

      Bob and Cynthia

      Thanks for such a great review. Looking forward to traveling with you again on one of our tours.

      Take care,

  9. Joan S, Aliso Viejo, CA-Reply
    September 19, 2017 at 5:39 pm

    Absolutely incredible in every respect: bikes, inns, food, and most importantly TOUR LEADERS! They were knowledgeable about the routes, enjoyed the guests, and could fix anything on the bikes. Attention to details was excellent. I highly recommend Sojourn to anyone who wants to have memorable vacation.

  10. Judy Wolfe, Denver, CO-Reply
    September 19, 2017 at 5:17 pm

    Just completed my 7th tour with Sojourn. As always, the guides were full of information about the area, and super encouraging along the way. The accommodations and food were great and the routes were well planned out. I have traveled with several other bike tour companies over the years and Sojourn is, in my opinion, the best. I will continue touring with them as long as I am able.

  11. M. Ostrem, Rochester, MN-Reply
    September 19, 2017 at 5:09 pm

    Our Sonoma County Wine Tour was truly magnificent. The route was comfortable and gave us an unforgettable experience. No stone was left unturned in developing this itinerary. Our Tour Leaders made sure our comfort and pleasure were met and every request accommodated. We could not have had better leaders who welcomed us as friends and treated us so warmly. We can’t wait to travel with Sojourn again soon.

  12. Anita H., Lodi, CA-Reply
    September 19, 2017 at 4:50 pm

    My husband and I were first timers with Sojourn and signed up for two consecutive trips this year. We have used many other tour companies and found Sojourn to be the best we have toured with. The accommodations, food, routes and guides exceeded our expectations. The guides were professional, knowledgeable, flexible and hard working. We can’t wait until our next tour with Sojourn!!!

  13. Debbie B, Sonoma, Burlington VT to Quebec, Arizona-Reply
    August 3, 2017 at 4:48 am

    We’ve done several trips with Sojourn–Sonoma, Burlington VT to Quebec, and Arizona. Each trip has been a great experience; the guides, the food (both lunches served by the guides and dinners included), the accommodations and the tours themselves. We’ve met new friends along the way and plan to use them again. Highly recommend Sojourn.

  14. Christopher T, Texas-Reply
    August 3, 2017 at 4:33 am

    First Class Five Star Experience in the Texas Hill Country. Can’t wait for the next adventure.

  15. Deb & Dick L., Weston, MA-Reply
    November 1, 2016 at 4:12 pm

    Why don’t you have Sojourn listed? They are one of the top companies we’ve traveled with in a ist that includes Backroads and Butterfield. We’ve done their Arizona, Oregon, and Burlington, VT to Quebec City trips. Each very different trips but each well though out, extremely organized, and with outstanding guides. This is a top flight tour company and highy recommended. We’re joining them again this summer.

  16. George K., Atlanta, GA-Reply
    November 1, 2016 at 4:11 pm

    We just took a trip with this operator. They do US and Canada tours and appear to be largely staffed by former VBT people. These guys did a great job. In spite of some challenging weather and unforseen events (a ferry broke down in route to us), they were great at improvsing when needed and giving everyone alot of personal attention. They need to be included on the review site.

  17. Misha Y., Portsmouth, NH-Reply
    November 1, 2016 at 4:11 pm

    Had an amazing time on the Martha’s Vineyard tour. The tour leaders were great and loads of fun. Met some very interesting people from around the country. Service from booking to departure was efficient and friendly. Lodging was first-rate and the food superb. I highly recommend Sojourn.

  18. P. Baer, Columbus, OH-Reply
    November 1, 2016 at 4:11 pm

    Attention to detail, comfort and fun places to visit. The guides went over and beyond, helping the slower rider up the hill, making delicious lunches, giving local history and supporting all of us on our ride. A wonderful way to spend a week with them and fellow riders. Absolutely complaint-free.

  19. John E., Indianapolis, IN-Reply
    November 1, 2016 at 4:11 pm

    We have had 3 good experiences with another tour operator in Maine, Vermont and Sonoma, but found the quality of service by our leaders, the accommodations, the diversity of locations for tours and the quality of food by Sojourn was a cut above the other company. Not stopping every 10 miles or so like the made it easier to get into a rhythm. More biking and less “break”-ing was what we were looking for. We will encourage our friends to join us with Sojourn in the future.

  20. Kate H., Seattle, WA-Reply
    November 1, 2016 at 4:10 pm

    Top notch experience; beautiful routes, food and properties. Friendly, easy going, yet professional guides who are clearly invested members of a small company rather than contracted lead tours for a larger outfit. As a single traveler, I felt welcome and part of the group immediately.